2024 GME Awards Banquet Winners

May 31, 2024

Residents, fellows, faculty, staff and guests gathered at The Vault at The National for the 4th annual GME Awards Banquet, which celebrates the professional and personal achievements of residents, fellows and faculty. Congratulations to all of the much-deserved winners! Check out the award recipients below:

Research & Quality Improvement Symposium Poster Winners:

Research Category: Boban A, Strike A, Sun M, Patel D. Evaluating Hemoglobin Thresholds for Blood Transfusions in Oncology Patients Admitted in the Intensive Care Unit.

Case Report Category: Yang C, Adewuyi A, Joseph M, Lowe D, Kaur G, Gross P. Trimethoprim-sulfamethoxazole-Induced Transient Aseptic Meningitis.

Quality Improvement Category: Anderson R, Gibson B. To Follow Up or Not to Follow Up, That is the Question: A Quality Improvement Project Implementing Telephone Follow-up for Standard Laparoscopic Appendectomies and Cholecystectomies.

Podium Presentation Category: Mahmood R, Robinson S, Slaton J, Egolum U. Risk Factors for the Development of Cardiac Amyloidosis: A Retrospective Observational Analysis.

Research & Quality Improvement Awards:

Most Published Resident of the Year: Mena Louis, DO

Most Promising Resident Researcher: O’Connell Penrose, MD

Faculty Research and Quality Improvement Mentors of the Year:

Idopise Umana, MD – Internal Medicine

Linu Joseph, MD – Family Medicine

Leslie David, MD, FAAFP – Transitional Year

Meredith Pickett, DO – Hospice and Palliative Medicine Fellowship

Nelson Royall, MD – General Surgery

Devin Vicknair, PhD, MS – Psychiatry

Shehzad Muhamed, MD – Emergency Medicine

David Molony, PhD – Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship

Resident Researcher of the Year: Aditya Ghosh, MD

GME Division Awards:

Excellence in GME Simulation-Based Learning Award: James Hogue, DO, FAAEM (faculty)

Community Engagement Award: Sheriff Dodoo, MD, Cardiovascular Disease

Overcoming Adversity Award: Christelle Yakana Moyine, MD, Internal Medicine

Excellence in Education Faculty Awards:

Kartik Shah, MD – Emergency Medicine

Amy Bailey, MD, FAAFP – Family Medicine

Edward Foxhall, MD, FACS – General Surgery

Vikram Raje, DO – Internal Medicine & Medical Subspecialties

Andrea Huntley, MD – Psychiatry

Outstanding Resident/Fellow of the Year: Maria Bramhall, MD – Family Medicine

To learn more, visit ngmcgme.org.